Block The Writers

Okay, I’m going to write a very snarky little post here.

As I explore the blogosphere, I have the privilege of reading some very entertaining blogs. The ones I love best and read with regularity are, of course, noted over there on the Blogroll. But there’s one annoying thing that I’m noticing as I surf around: there is an awful lot of bad grammar out there.

“Whoa, Nellie,” you’re probably saying. “I don’t think MotherMe is the poster child of good grammar!” And I would definitely agree with you. (See? I just started a sentence with a conjunction. Strunk and White would be after me with a red pen for sure.)

The bad grammar is so bad, though, that reading some of these blogs makes me wince. Sometimes, I can’t even finish reading a post because it’s so painful. I can tolerate a little typo or error now and again. Goodness, I make plenty myself. There are probably seven or eight mistakes in this very paragraph. But I simply can’t enjoy reading when the author obviously doesn’t have a basic grasp of the Rules.

I never considered myself a Writer because, well, simply, I just didn’t think I had anything to Say. (I still don’t, really. This blog is just part of a fantasy that someone out there is going to read something I’ve written and consider themselves Better For Having Read It.) But now, I realize that there are writers out there who Can’t Write. They have plenty to say. They just don’t know how to say it properly.

Maybe that’s where the editor comes in. I guess editors are there to help the writers look smart, the way a secretary makes a boss look much more brilliant than he or she really is. You’ve got an idea person and an execution person. A big-picture guy, and a technician. But as most blogs do not have editors, the writers just hang it all out there for everyone to see, bad grammar and all. You can’t really blame them. They have lot’s to say. Its not a big deal if they’re is a mistake here and their, right?

Besides, it’s there blog.

3 thoughts on “Block The Writers

  1. Oh, you grammar nut, you! Isn’t it the most obnoxious thing in the world when you encounter a well-reasoned, interesting post with horrible (third-grade level) grammar errors? I can’t spell worth s*it, but I know proper grammar….

    I’m right there with ya, though!
    ~LA

  2. You totally had me going with the last two sentences. I felt my hair stand on end and my eyes start to roll back in my head, and then I realized: Oh thank god, she’s kidding!

    As a fellow Scrabble-loving word nerd, my favorite term to drop into conversation is omphaloskepsis.

    Thanks for blogrolling us!

    🙂

Leave a comment