Word.

Since my last post was kind of negative, I have the urge to write something good, to write about something I like instead of doing so much complaining. Call it Blog Feng Shui. Or maybe Blog Karma. Anyway, to balance things out, I’m going to write about the words I like. (This will give me a good chance to use them, too.)

First off, I love snarky. I don’t even know if it’s a real word. It does appear in the Dictionary, but then, so does “QE“, and I’ve never seen that word used except for maybe in a Scrabble championship. But I like snarky. I use it often, much to my husband’s annoyance.

I like quintessential. Not only does it contain the under-used “Q”, but it has lots of syllables and looks harder to spell than it really is. Plus, it’s a snobby alternative to “awesome”.

Another word I like to use is segue, but only for speech, not in writing. It’s not nearly as interesting to see it in print as it is to say “SEG way”. The same is true for epithet. I like saying it, but that embedded “h” just looks creepy on the page.

I love the word masticate. I don’t know why, but it sounds naughty. There’s really nothing naughty about chewing, but the idea of watching someone masticate is strangely exciting.

I like words that sound like they’re working hard, words that give you the sense you’re getting your money’s worth. I’m talking about words like ubiquitous and percolate. Sure, there are a lot of syllables there, but those are some hard-working words. I get sweaty just saying them.

There are some words I like just because they’re odd. Kowtow is one of my favorites. Why is it that everyone pronounces it like “cow tail”?

I like words that sound like what they mean. Cacophony is a good example of that. Just saying “ka-KAH-fa-nee” sounds like a raucous din. But it’s not just the audial part. Sometimes, the word means what it looks like it means. Rotund, for example, just smacks of roly-poly. Or maybe it’s because it’s so close to rotunda. Hmmm. I’ll have to think on that one.

There are other words that I enjoy just because they are like candy in the mouth. Epiphany is one of those. It’s fun to say. So are procrastinate (which I also love to do), quandary (in which I often find myself), and serene (which I hope to be).

That’s the joy of writing a blog. You can toss around your favorite words willy-nilly, without anyone telling you to desist (which just irks me to no end). And when you’re done, you can just skedaddle.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

