Where Has The Time Gone? And Where Did My Pie Go?

When I logged into WordPress tonight, there was a nice little note in my Notifications:

How about that, huh? Six years! Good lord.

I also baked a pie tonight, in anticipation of tomorrow’s Thanksgiving holiday. Two pies, actually. I baked two pies because I knew this would happen:

2012-11-21 18.35.47

See all of that pie that is no longer there?

I can forsee the future [of pies] in my house. It’s both a blessing and a curse.  Fortunately, I could mitigate this pie’s certain and premature doom  by making a Backup Pie.  It is in witness protection until tomorrow, though, so you will just have to trust me on that one.

P.S.  It’s now several hours since that photo was taken and there is even Less Pie than before.

By the way, I have revised my pie crust recipe. (The filling is still the same.) Until now, I have been making it with all lard in the crust. Well, I decided to expand my horizons and work on a combination of lard and butter, to give it a little more flavor. And now I am smitten with the Lard and Butter Pie Crust recipe I found on Leite’s Culinaria. It goes a little something like this:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
13 tablespoons cold butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
8 tablespoons cold lard
4 to 6 tablespoons ice water

Combine the dry ingredients together in the bowl of a food processor. (Yes, really! A food processor! With a metal blade!  I can’t believe I am saying this.) Pulse the fat in with short bursts of powerrrr (say that like Jeremy Clarkson, it’s really fun to do) until you have a shaggy dough. Put the dough in another bowl and sprinkle the water over it, gathering gently into a ball with a fork or cupped fingers. Divide the ball in half, place each half on a piece of waxed paper and flatten slightly, then fold the paper up to make a little packet. Stick the packets in the fridge for at least 30 minutes to rest and chill before rolling them out.  I make the dough and let it rest while I cut and spice the apple filling, and that seems to work out well.

One thought on “Where Has The Time Gone? And Where Did My Pie Go?

Leave a Reply

