Little Turkeys

I couldn’t think of a clever title for this post, but that’s not important.  What is important are these ridiculously cute cookies I’m about to show you.

Some friends are coming over this afternoon, you know, to knit and watch movies and eat stuff.  And since this week is Thanksgiving here in the USA, and Thanksgiving here is All About The Bird, I started thinking that it would be fun to have some turkey cookies.  But not turkey flavored, because that would just be weird (though not necessarily bad… maybe I will experiment someday) (maybe not)(okay really, no, not ever). And then I remembered this cute little cookie cutter my MIL gave me ages ago, which at the time did briefly give me pause to wonder, when will I ever make a turkey-shaped cookie?!  And the answer to that question is now, baby.  Now.

Untitled

Not only is this cooky cutter in the shape of a turkey (or chicken, I guess, depending on how you decide to interpret it), it is adorkably tiny.  I love tiny cooky cutters.  Sure, they take longer with the rolling and re-rolling of the dough, and you have a lot more cookies to decorate when it comes to that part.  But I’ll be honest, my diet has improved considerably over the years and I no longer want a half pound of butter, sugar and frosting in my hand when I want a treat.  I just want a taste, and I want a small taste of something very good rather than many tastes of something mediocre- but that’s another story. Back to this turkey. It fits right in the palm of my hand.

Untitled

And it makes the cutest little cookys. I thought a gingerbread dough would be very appropriate.

Untitled

Untitled

And then you can get all crazy and decorate them so that there can be no doubt (or very little anyway) that These Are Turkeys.

Untitled

Untitled

And then you can make a whole flock of turkeys, and serve them to your friends, and know that you did your part to represent the most underrepresented symbol of a national holiday in the entire cooky cutter universe.  And you can also make terrible jokes about how people just “gobble” up your cookys.  I know I will.

Untitled

And in case you care, I used the Joy Of Baking Gingerbread Cooky Recipe for these little guys. I like that the dough isn’t overly sweet.  Keep in mind that small cooky cutters mean you might want to lessen the baking time.  I went 6 1/2 minutes per tray on these.

One thought on “Little Turkeys

Leave a Reply

