More Tomatoes

This year I bought two boxes of Roma tomatoes (one bushel total) for $18.  I made a batch of catsup, which yielded 4 halfpints and 5 4-oz jars.  The catsup was a little sweeter than I remembered from the batch two years ago.  I made the newer version of the catsup recipe on PickYourOwn.org.  Bet I should have made the older/spicier recipe.  It’s still good, though, and ought to make a nice condiment for the eight million meat loaves we’re going to be eating this winter while we use up all the ground beef in the freezer.

I also made a batch of salsa, and tonight I processed the rest of the supply into crushed tomatoes.  I got 8 pints and 6 halfpints using the waterbath method in the Ball Book.  While time consuming, they really do taste a lot fresher than commercially canned tomatoes.

 

Leave a Reply

