On Being Cold

It’s cold here. I mean cold. Okay so if you are reading this from northern Canada, or possibly the South Pole, you might look at my measly 21 degrees F (-5 C) with something of a sneer.  But really, when I tell you it’s cold I know what I’m talking about.  It’s freezing.  Below freezing, even.  This sucks. And it’s not going to get better anytime soon.

Mobile Weather Information | En Español
Last Update: 1:03 pm EST Jan 4, 2010
Forecast Valid: 3pm EST Jan 4, 2010-6pm EST Jan 10, 2010
Forecast at a Glance
This
Afternoon

Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 80%
Snow

Hi 23 °F

Tonight

Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 90%
Snow

Lo 16 °F

Tuesday

Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 90%
Snow

Hi 25 °F

Tuesday
Night

Chance Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 50%
Chance
Snow
Lo 17 °F
Wednesday

Slight Chance Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 20%
Slight Chc
Snow
Hi 27 °F
Wednesday
Night

Mostly Cloudy
Mostly
Cloudy
Lo 14 °F
Thursday

Chance Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 40%
Chance
Snow
Hi 22 °F
Thursday
Night

Snow Likely Chance for Measurable Precipitation 60%
Snow
Likely
Lo 12 °F
Friday

Chance Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 50%
Chance
Snow
Hi 22 °F


I’m not sure why the cold has started bothering me the last few years. Winter has always been one of my favorite times of the year. I get to wear baggy clothes, drink lots of hot beverages and hide in my house for days on end. This is my kind of thing.  But maybe I’m venturing into that stage of life where cold is no longer fun. I’m starting to see the reason the snowbirds flee to Florida and points south when the flakes start to fly.

At least the days are getting longer. Summer, maybe you are not my enemy after all.

Leave a Reply

