CSA Week 13

Most of the other CSA subscribers pick up their weekly produce boxes at the Millers’ farm, the nice folks who organized our CSA. I normally pick up our CSA box directly at the growers’ farm, since I live closer to them. Last week’s potluck must have thrown a wrench in the works, because somehow my box accidentally got shipped up to the Millers. Mr. Byler was very apologetic, and put together another box for me while I waited.

Rachel, Mr. Byler’s wife, usually puts the boxes together. Each week we receive a half-bushel box which is solidly full, but never overflowing. I think Mr. Byler felt a bit embarassed about sending my box on with the others, because he not only filled my box so full that the flaps were stuck open, but he also gave me a bag with 14 ears of corn in it.

CSA Week 13

The peppers are definitely in season. This week’s box has several different varieties, and they’re all turning red, which I think is the best stage. I like bell peppers with some color in them.

The box for Week 13 has:

  • a quart (2 #) of green beans
  • a pint (12 oz) of cherry tomatoes
  • 4 tomatoes (2 pounds)
  • 4 “tomato peppers” (1 pound)
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 1 red pepper
  • 4 banana peppers (1 pound)
  • 3 cubanelle-esque peppers (1 pound)
  • 1 small hot pepper
  • 14 ears of corn
  • and 2 of the biggest onions I’ve ever seen

Very large onion

See what I mean? This onion weighs 2 1/2 pounds. That’s just crazy.

I have already sliced a tomato and made a sandwich of it on homemade sourdough bread, which deserves a post – and I even took pictures for one.  Give me a day or so and I’ll tell you all about that, plus making a delicious plum brandy.

Harvest time in the midwest US  is a glorious thing.

Leave a Reply

