Good Things Also Come to Those Who Just Can’t Wait

Yesterday, while weeding* the garden, I accidentally pulled up a potato plant. Ooops.  We’re still a little early to be digging up the potatoes.

Then I spied a wee little spud nestled in the dirt, right where the plant had been. Well, who could leave a motherless potato buried in the dirt? Not I. I gently brushed the dirt away and rescued it.

This process uncovered another potato plant, and another potato. Before I knew it, I had pulled up three plants, and a handful of potatoes.

Freshly Dug Potatoes

Darn.

*weeding generally implies walking past the garden and noting that, yes, there are weeds. In this case, I was actually pulling some of them out.

Leave a Reply

