Guess That Greenery

I have decided to host a giveaway. That’s right. You heard me: a giveaway. Before you get all excited and whatnot, you might want to read on to see just what you’re scrambling about on your keyboard for already. I’m a novice at all of this, remember?

Because it’s summer, and I’m feeling much better about things than in recent days, I am offering up one lovely handknitted dishcloth in a swanky denim blue color to the person who correctly identifies the following three sprouts in our garden. In case of a tie, there is a bonus question (to which I do not know the answer, so that’s kind of tricky seeing as I won’t know if you got the bonus correct or not. A conundrum, I do declare.) In case no one answers all three, then I’m off scot-free while still having offered a bloggy giveaway. Success!

Ahem. Anyway, back to the business at hand.

Mystery Seedling #1:

Our first mystery seedling is nearly three months old. There are six of them in this picture. Please ignore all the clover and other weeds. They’re just scenery.

Mystery plant 2

Any guesses? No? That’s okay. On to the next mystery seedling.

Mystery Seedling #2.

Mystery Plant

I don’t know how old these babies are. Maybe a month? I just planted them out a week ago. I’ll give you a hint: they’re vines, but they don’t climb up a trellis.

And, finally, we have our third contest entry.

Mystery Seedling #3

Mystery plant

These just popped up a couple of days ago. They’re about 10 days in the ground, and I sowed them directly. The seedlings in the first picture were also sown directly, while the one in the second were started indoors.

Give up yet? (Please?)

Finally, our bonus plant/question. Can anyone tell me what this is?

Surprise flower

It’s got these gorgeous blooms, but I have no idea what they’re called.

Flower Surprise

It’s probably something stupidly common, like “rose” or “carnation”. Seeing as I am so-not-the-green-thumb, however, I’m completely at a loss.

Anyway, feel free to play along, or not, in the comments below. The contest, should you care to participate, is open until Friday, June 13, at noon, Eastern Standard Time (or daylight savings time, or whatever they happen to be on in my neck of the woods). If there so happens to be a winner, that person’s prize will be ready in about three to four weeks. Possibly even sooner, unless I have some harvesting to do.

Cheating is encouraged and multiple entries are allowed, as long as they are progressively humorous. There are no other rules that I can think of at the moment, but I reserve the right to implement any if some become necessary, which is completely at my own discretion.

Hey. It’s my blog.

5 thoughts on “Guess That Greenery

  1. Just to be a little bit different….how about
    1. Spring Onion (cept, it’s not spring…..*shrug*)
    2. Pumpkin
    3. Corn

    And bonus….camellia?

Leave a Reply

