Another Hard-Learned Lesson

If you’re making a cream cheese frosting, and the recipe calls for one and one-half cups of powdered sugar, you should really make sure that your powdered sugar container contains powdered sugar and not BAKING SODA. They may look a lot alike but, trust me. They don’t taste ANYTHING alike.

Good fortune has smiled on us, however, in that my habit of tasting substances whilst they are still in the mixing bowl (and, in this case, NOT already on the cake) revealed the horrible, awful truth: that I had included a full cup and one-half of BAKING SODA, instead of powdered sugar, in my frosting. And, no it was not good.

Come on, universe- give me a collective EEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWW. Because that’s what a cup and a half of baking soda beaten with butter and cream cheese tastes like. And, to make matters worse, there is no way short of a shot of vodka that you can clear that taste out of your mouth. (I know. I’ve tried.)

(Including the vodka part.)
The sad news is that there’s also no way of fixing this blunder, and I have now wasted two packages of cream cheese and two sticks of butter (not to mention one and one-half cups of baking soda), with no more cream cheese on hand to make a new batch, and thusly no frosting for my yummy banana cake. I shall have to improvise with some custardy filling kind of thing, and possibly a buttercream frosting. It’s not the same, but it’s a lot better than Baking Soda Frosting, that’s for sure.

Meanwhile, I’m off to make a new label for that cannister straightaway, although I’m fairly certain I won’t be making this mistake again in the very near future.

2 thoughts on “Another Hard-Learned Lesson

Leave a Reply

