At Least There’s The Weather

–Complaining Alert–

I’m stuck inside. It’s cold out. There’s a mountain of snow on my van. Under the snow is a 2″ (5 cm) thick glacier of ice. Even if I dug out the vehicle, there’s still the problem of the unplowed side roads. They say the main streets are clear, but I’d get stuck long before I ever got on them.

Sigh.

We did get a pretty good storm here over the last few days. Southwest of us, they got about 20″. That’s a lot. That’s like a hundred centimeters, and isn’t 100 cm a meter? Oh, crap.  I hate being a stupid American who doesn’t know metrics.

I like to keep on top of the weather. Around here, we get a good variety of it and it changes often. In fact, there’s even a common saying to this effect:

If you don’t like the weather, just wait ten minutes.

So to keep on top of things, I generally check the National Weather Service once a day. (Or more. I’m a nerd.) I like their clickable map of the nation because, while I may be an idiot about the metric system, I am smart enough to know that whatever is happening in St. Louis will inevitably be coming our way in the next day or so.

Here is what the national map looks like today:

Nice Weather

As you can see, there aren’t too many colored blobs anywhere near me, and those little green ones are not serious. Colored blobs are usually weather, which usually manifests itself in the form of precipitation. Today, it’s relatively un-blobby. The red in Florida is karma’s way of getting back at my mother for her stupid nice weather. (I think it’s a sunshine warning or something.)

But here’s what the map looked like yesterday morning:

Crappy Weather

This is my artistic interpretation. The red blob over Florida is just a last-minute for-spite move. It was a very emotional weekend.

We, of course, are right in the middle of that line of red blobs, but far enough south that the temperature waffled between freezing and one degree above, and thus the blobs presented themselves in the form of ice. Lots of thick, hard, crusty, crunchy ice.

The good news about this is that ice melts pretty fast. Today, it’s sunny out, the icicles are already melting, and thank goodness those ten minutes of weather are over. I’m so ready for something different.

On a side note: the laundry room is now entirely coated in Lavender Sparkle. Only the floor is left to do.

2 thoughts on “At Least There’s The Weather

  1. I saw this:

    In fact, there’s even a common saying to this effect: If you don’t like the weather, just wait ten minutes.

    and thought, “No way! She lives in New England?”

Leave a Reply

