Movie Critic

I don’t normally write about movies, even though I like to watch them and even have Netflix and watch lots of them (especially animated ones by Hayao Miyazaki, but that’s another story). However, I recently watched The Prestige (which I enjoyed immensely; how could you not love a movie with Hugh Jackman AND Christian Bale AND David Bowie? I ask you.) And I almost wrote a post about it, it was that good.

Then today, I saw a headline that caught my attention:

Edison Fries An Elephant to Prove His Point

So I don’t know if you saw The Prestige, and even if you did, if you remember the snide jabs that Bowie’s marvelous impersonation of Tesla made at Edison whenever he had the opportunity. But this is just further validation that Edison was a seedy flimflammer who might have had a great idea but just HAD to cheat and lie to make sure he came out on top.

Bah. I’m going to smash turn off all my lightbulbs now.

4 thoughts on “Movie Critic

  1. I think The Prestige was a tremendous film and had everything going for it starting with an excellent script, director Christopher Nolan and the wonderful pairing of Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale as the two magicians who were ver close friends who became rivals and deadly enemies.

    I particularly liked Hugh Jackman’s performance he is always so natural in the way he brings a character together which worked beautifully with Christian Bale. Supporting cast of Michael Caine and David Bowie really did put the final touches on a very classy, directions and performances

  2. Thanks Anne. I think it was a great film, too. It didn’t hurt that you get to gawk at Jackman and Bale in lovely period costumes, either. I agree, it was very classy. One of the better films I’ve seen in a long time. And I LOVED the twist ending. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

