Bon Voyage Redux

Can you imagine the most annoying, whiny, squealy, high-pitched sing-songy voice ever? Okay… now imagine that voice saying the following phrase repeatedly:

I’M GOING TO NEW YORK CITY. I’M GOING TO NEW YORK CITY. I’M LEAVING TO-NI-I-GHT, I’M NOT COMING BACK TIL SUN-DAAAAYYY…

Oh, I almost forgot the best part.

THE KIDS ARE STAYING HOME WITH DA-DDY, THEY’RE NOT COMING WI-ITH ME…

Another mommy friend and I are taking a bus trip to NYC. Such fogies we are, you say? Well, screw you then, if you were thinking that. I’m going and you’re probably not. So there.

My friend’s SIL took this trip a few years ago and said it was really fun. I think it is actually geared towards hardcore shopper-types, which neither one of us are, but it should be a fun time. The bus leaves at midnight, drives 9 hours thru the night (during which time we are presumably snoozing), drops us off at Macy’s at 9AM, and then we have a frenetic 12 hours to cram in as much shopping-eating-sightseeing as we can possibly fit before reboarding the bus at 9pm to go home.

In pre-kid days, I would have scoffed at such a trip. Who would do such a ridiculous thing?

Ha. Me, apparently.

And you know what I’m especially looking forward to? Do you know what, honestly, will probably be the best part? It’s not the shopping or the food, nor all the sights, not even the pleasant weather (you’d better be right, Weather Dot Gov) or the friendly company that will highlight this trip. Nope. Guess what part I’m looking forward to?

The quiet bus ride.

Ahhh….

Oh, that and maybe a full cup of hot joe in the Village. One that I can drink in peace, of course.

Ciao til Sunday!

Leave a Reply

