Late Night Bloggercize

It’s 12AM. I’m drinking a beer to counter a 9PM cup of coffee. It’s working, but I’m not quite tired yet.

Today was a good day. I’m still savoring it, and having the kids and hubby in bed while I poke around the ‘net is a great nightcap (as is this bottle of brew). I had a great weekend, the best in ages- lots of different activities, lots of time to myself, lots of visiting friends, even a new party dress (and a party to wear it to, too!) Life is good.

I made a lot of progress in the garden today, which is always satisfying. I got my tomatoes in and finished a composting trench in the nightshade bed to keep the nutrients flowing. This year’s ‘mater varieties include a couple of yellow pear, a Crnkovich from Yugoslavia (which has special sentiment), a Black From Tula, a Nepal, and a Paul Robeson Brown. I have a few Stupice which came back wild, as did a Silver Fir. My pumpkins are doing well alongside a trio of Moon and Stars watermelons. I’m also experimenting with pot-growing (growing IN pots, of course) on the back deck to make cultivating a little easier with the kids. Harvest time will be exciting this year!

My latest kitchen accomplishment was a beef satay that we gobbled up for dinner tonight out on the deck. (When we get nice weather, we get NICE weather. I like to use it up.) I got this recipe off the internet somewhere, but lost the header with the web site. I’ll post it anyway, since I’ve modified it enough to claim it as my own. It’s delish- we’ve served it at holiday parties two years running, and the plate is always empty in minutes.

Satay Beef

  • One-half to one pound of free-range, organic beef chipped steak
  • 3T low-salt natural brewed soy sauce (such as Tamari)
  • 2T brown sugar
  • 2T sesame oil
  • 1T rice wine vinegar
  • 1T honey
  • 1/2t (or more) crushed red pepper
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • wood skewers (about a dozen)

Spread out the beef in a shallow dish, such as a pie plate. In another bowl, combine the marinade ingredients and mix well. Pour over the beef and turn the pieces several times to make sure they are well-covered. Cover the plate and put it in the refrigerator to marinate for at least a few hours, up to 24.

Approximately an hour or two before cooking, place wood skewers in a dish large enough that they lie flat on the bottom. Cover them with water and let them soak to help prevent burning. Just before cooking, remove skewers from water. Take a slice of the marinated meat and thread it onto a skewer. Set the skewered beef on a plate and repeat with the remaining slices. Grill skewers for approximately 2-3 minutes a side, and enjoy hot. (If you can’t grill, the skewers can also be broiled.)

Leave a Reply

