Waffling

One summer day a couple of years ago, DH and I drove around to a bunch of garage sales. We found several great “treasures” that day, including my fabulous One Dollar Waffle Iron.

This iron is old. It has a cloth-wrapped cord. The plug has no polarized end to save you from accidental electricity. There’s no internal thermostat, either. The iron will just get hotter and hotter and hotter until you go to open it, at which point it is likely that the oil catches on fire from the sudden infusion of oxygen in what looks much like a fancy dessert at a high-class restaurant (only scarier, since it’s not supposed to catch fire). The outside isn’t insulated, so any part of the metal exterior that you might brush against when the iron is plugged in will give you a joyful burn. And the nonstick cooking surface of the iron is not teflon, but the charred and seasoned remains of many, many, many waffles which have sizzled (and burned) on its surface. I tell you these features of my One Dollar Waffle Iron from personal experience, including the fire part.

Still, I love my One Dollar Waffle Iron. I love it for its faults, not in spite of them. I love that it’s round and funny-looking, like a metallic hat-box with ears. I love its aged sturdiness. I love that I “rescued” it from someone’s garage sale, gave it a new home, and cared enough to give it several second-chances after ruining batch after batch of Special Waffles*. I love it so much that I will completely resist the temptation to refer to it as the ODWI, and call it by its full name – The One Dollar Waffle Iron – each and every time.

And now that I have finally learned the iron’s secrets, I love my waffles.

*Special Waffles are so named because they are light and airy, the result of separating the egg and folding the beaten whites in at the end. That’s all.

And since I’m sure you’re curious, here is the recipe for Special Waffles.

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 2 eggs, separated

Mix together the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl. Combine the milk, oil, sugar, vanilla and egg yolks, then add to the dry ingredients. Mix the batter until smooth. Beat the egg whites until stiff, and gently fold them into the batter. Bake according to your waffle iron’s instructions.

I’m sure your waffles will be delicious, and I sincerely hope you enjoy them. Unfortunately, they will never be as good as mine, unless you also have a One Dollar Waffle Iron.

Leave a Reply

