How To Celebrate Mother’s Day

So it is just a few hours before Mother’s Day, and I keep thinking I should write a few lines to commemorate my third such event. DH is playing with the girls in the next room, and I can hear peals of laughter as he tickles and jokes with them. It fees good to sneak away for just a moment.

Being a mother is hard, hard work. It’s physically taxing, emotionally draining, and intellectually oppressive at times. We are constantly pulled to our offspring: caring for them, protecting them, playing with them, teaching them. As our minds whirl with the endless monotony of eating, sleeping, nursing, diapering, laundering, and all the other unnamed tasks we do to keep our home and our family thriving, it is small moments like this that are the rewards for what we do.

I love seeing my children with their Daddy. I love seeing my husband with his daughters. It warms my soul, tugs on my heart, and makes my nose sniffly. As I steal a minute to myself, the giggles and squeals coming from the bedroom are the best Mother’s Day gift I could have asked for.

Well, maybe that and a nice massage….

Leave a Reply

