As Lentils Would Have It

I caught an episode of Good Eats the other night, entitled “Pantry Raid VI: Lentils“. A few nights later, DH and I went out solo for dinner, and the soup special was Sausage & Lentil Soup. (I ordered said soup, by the way, and it was so good that DH ordered some, too– DH, who would order pork fat pie before he would order lentil soup…!) And then, during my weekly trip to the grocery store, lentils were on sale. Seems like someone was trying to tell me something. So, I bought the lentils, got myself some hot sausage, and set about making some lentil soup.

The process is really simple. Lentils, as Mr. Brown will tell you, cook fairly quickly – unlike other legumes (which you must pronounce Lay-GYEWWW-ms in as frenchie-nasally a voice as you can muster) like beans and such. There’s no pre-soaking needed, which is great for a scatterbrained chef like myself who rarely plans ahead. So I browned some spicey sausage links, which we chopped into bite-size pieces, and then added the obligatory carrot – celery – onion trinity. After that, a couple cans of diced tomatoes with liquid, about 4-5 cups of beef stock, 6 cups or so of water, and a pound of lentils. (You need a lot of liquid, or you’ll end up with a muddy stew instead of a soup.) I added some dried herbs: generous teaspoons of parsley, oregano, and basil, plus some kosher salt and several cranks of the pepper mill. Bring to a boil, drop to a simmer, then cook for about an hour and a half or so. Add a little more salt as needed.

Uh, yum.

The verdict

Mama: Pretty good. I will make it again.

DH: I’ll eat a bowl, but I’m not a fan of LayGYEWWWms. (Too chalky.)

DD1: Carrots are yummy. I’m not ready to try the other stuff in the bowl yet.

DD2: Ate several spoonfuls without spitting up.

One thought on “As Lentils Would Have It

Leave a Reply

