What’s So Funny?

So a friend of mine has a recent post called “Make Me Laugh“, which she ended with a dangling little carrot of a question: What makes you laugh? I wanted to answer, but the comment box seemed just too small for such an open-ended topic.

Lots of things make me laugh, but I have noticed that I do it with less frequency and certainly less fervor than when I was younger. That definitely does not make me laugh. I figured I’d better write some of the remaining things down, so I can be reminded of them when I’m older and laughing at even fewer things than I am now.

My kids make me laugh. They also make me scream and yell and pull my hair out, but there’s a lot of giggling that goes on between those moments. I imagine it’s much like being a manic-depressive. The lows are pretty low, but the highs are very, very high.

Let’s see… Many of the laughable moments have occurred when my older daughter has spoken. She is full of witty one-liners. I bet she doesn’t even know just how cute and funny she is. Some of my favorites include the following gems:

  • “I’m not a girl. I’m a sister!”
  • “Peanut Jelly an’ BUTTER!”
  • “Look at this mess I made!”

My younger daughter is also hilarious, but in a pantomime sort of way, which is hard to describe and still get the same effect. She makes great faces and plays a sly game of Peek A Boo that is riotous. Maybe I will post a video of her some day.

I do know that I need to laugh at more things. Life used to be much funnier (and funner) when I did that. Somehow I have fallen into a rut of responsibility and duties, and forgotten to enjoy the things that are the reason I do what I do. It shouldn’t be so hard to make me laugh.

2 thoughts on “What’s So Funny?

  1. Look at you, linking to me! And embedding too, I stand in awe of your html skills. 🙂
    Thanks for the tag!

    Isn’t it odd how those times of roaring with laughter seem less now than when we were teens?

    ~Lucy

  2. My html skills extend only as far as knowing what the term stands for. I just happen to have a good blog editor! But thanks for the compliment, and the comment. I enjoy reading your blog and look forward to your updates, which are much more frequent than mine…mm

Leave a Reply

